Video & Audio with Lorcan

by julesmcdee

This week I met up with Lorcan (http://www.1916rising.com/) to record some video footage and audio voiceovers for the app.

The idea behind the video is to have an overview or synopsis of the Easter Rising, so those who are unfamiliar with the background history or even for those who just need a little memory jogging, can be informed.

I wanted to limit the video to about 2-2 & a half minutes, and to also include some archived photographs to help structure it better for the user. This decision was influenced by the fact that those using the app will most likely be on foot, so having something that is short but still engaging will add to the experience.

I met Lorcan at the International Bar on Wicklow Street. Lorcan suggested The International as it is the meeting point for his own walking tour and he said we’d be able to use the comedy bar upstairs for filming.

DUBLIN, The International Bar (ALT, 4.2011)

While setting up, I told Lorcan that I wanted a brief overview to what the Easter Rising was and why it happened, and to explain in such a way as if the user watching knew nothing about the Rising itself.

We did a few takes, and finally got a recording that had a good even pace to it and covered everything necessary to the brief.

For the audio, I brought along copy that I had worked on for each of the Rising locations. Lorcan had a read over it, making some slight corrections but thought the overall work was good. He decided to work from the structure of my bullet points and then elaborate on some details. There were some smaller stories that he had told on the walking tour that I took particular interest in, so I asked if he could work those in too, which he was delighted to do.

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 23.26.44

 

