BELIEVE IN YOSELF.

by julesmcdee

belief |biˈlēf|

noun

1 an acceptance that a statement is true or that something exists: his belief in the value of hard work | a belief that solitude nourishes creativity.

• something one accepts as true or real; a firmly held opinion or conviction: contrary to popular belief, Aramaic is a living language | we’re prepared to fight for our beliefs.

• a religious conviction: Christian beliefs | I’m afraid to say belief has gone | local beliefs and customs.

2 (belief in) trust, faith, or confidence in someone or something: a belief in democratic politics | I’ve still got belief in myself.

PHRASES

be of the belief that hold the opinion that; think: I am firmly of the belief that we need to improve our product.

beyond belief astonishingly good or bad; incredible: riches beyond belief | the driving we have witnessed was beyond belief.

in the belief that thinking or believing that: he took the property in the belief that he had consent.

to the best of my belief in my genuine opinion; as far as I know: to the best of my belief, Francis never made a will.

ORIGIN Middle English: alteration of Old English gelēafa; compare with believe.

