Finding an idea….

by julesmcdee

I’ve been throwing ideas down on paper for a while now, as they come into my head. However my big problem is not developing them any further so when it came to picking something for my final project I looked over some stuff I had jotted down. Most of my ideas seem to be influenced by town. I’m so obsessed with Dublin City, I just want to be there all the time. I’m so inspired by our little city and knew that I wanted it involved in some way in my project.

Over the summer I was lucky enough to continue my internship with Language. Towards the end of the summer they were assigned a new project. The 1913 Dublin Lockout Centenary is coming up next year, and Language were asked to create an identity for the anniversary. It was great to be involved with the design process and I had the great opportunity to present what we came up with to Congress.

It got me thinking about Irish history again, which I have a huge interest in and how I could link my project up with it. 2016 will be the year of the Easter Rising Centenary. Most of the Rising took place at locations around Dublin City, so it became obvious to me that I’d like to do something around the anniversary.

I read an interesting article in The Irish Times written by former Taoiseach, John Bruton, about how all sacrifices of people 100 years ago should be honored (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2011/1111/1224307370550.html).

In the article he argues that the Lockout Centenary(1913) and the Home Rule Bill Centenary(1914) should be remembered just as much as the Rising’s 100 years in 2016. There was one quote from it that really struck me, and it was simply, “Commemorations are, above all, educational exercises.” This got me thinking about how I could educate all generations on the Rising using digital media.

The anniversary will have a different meaning to different people, but especially to different age groups. For most of us, our only education on Irish history would have been during our school years and most of that information may be gone from our memory now. I want to try and develop something that will re-educate people on the Easter Rising and to get them interested in such an important anniversary for our country.

App development has opened so many doors in terms of educating people. I really feel that creating an interactive education tool for users on this topic could be something relevant and useful. Along with this, I’d like to create an identity for the anniversary, something that will grab all age groups.

This was the guts of my idea. We pitch this Friday (Oct. 26th)

