The User Experience – Review of History Apps

by julesmcdee

The Rebellion Walking Tour that I went on last weekend really helped me in getting a look at things from the users perspective. To a certain extent I also became a user so I had to take note of the things that struck me most about the tour and about what questions I was eager to ask.

I did some more reading on the topic of interactive walking tours and how there are more and more apps being designed to try and recreate the experience of a walking tour. Below is a good article that I read on interactive walking tours and the experiences that can be created using our mobile smart devices.

http://www.xconomy.com/boston/2007/10/31/mobile-and-interactive-in-boston-on-the-run-with-untravel-and-urban-interactive/

“travel and entertainment content developed especially for mobile platforms”

“the devices’ ability to bring you information and applications that can vastly enrich your experience of the world outside your home or office.”

“forces you to look outward and learn about the world around you.”

““walking slide shows,” that combine audio and still images”

“full of nerdy but fascinating detail”

“electronic platforms can also enhance our experience and understanding of real outdoor environments full of hidden historical or architectural detail”

 

